Minutes of a Special Meeting of the Industrial Commission of North Dakota

Held on August 14th, 2024 beginning at 8:00 a.m.

Governor's Conference Room - State Capitol

Present: Governor Doug Burgum, Chairman (remote)

Attorney General Drew H. Wrigley

Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring (remote)

Governor Burgum called the meeting of the Industrial Commission to order at approximately 8:05 a.m.

Ms. Karen Tyler took roll call, and Governor Burgum, Commissioner Goehring, and Attorney General Wrigley were present.

Governor Burgum invited the room to stand and join the Commission in saying the Pledge of Allegiance.

DEPARTMENT OF MINERAL RESOURCES DIRECTOR FINALIST SELECTION

Ms. Karen Tyler reminded the Commission that the two finalist interviews were held at the July 30, 2024 Industrial Commission meeting, and the Commission moved to table the appointment decision to allow more time for consideration.

It was noted by Governor Burgum that Ms. Tyler conducted interviews with members at DMR to get a better understanding of what is needed in a leader for the agency.

The Commission held a discussion regarding the two Department of Mineral Resources Executive Director Finalists. It was noted that both finalists had strong, relevant, although different, experience to bring to the position.

Governor Burgum shared his view that at the current time Nathan Anderson was the right leader for DMR given his deep industry experience. Additionally, he noted the important work Kevin Connors has done at EERC and his hope that EERC will strive to retain him.

Both the Agriculture Commissioner and Attorney General echoed the comments made by the Governor, and the Commission thanked both candidates for their time and commitment to this process.

It was moved by Commissioner Goehring and seconded by Attorney General Wrigley that the Industrial Commission offer the position of the Department of Mineral Resources Executive Director to Nathan Anderson.

On a roll call vote, Governor Burgum, Attorney General Wrigley, and Commissioner Goehring voted aye. The motion carried unanimously.

Governor Burgum noted that Ms. Tyler will be responsible for discussions with Mr. Anderson and providing an offer letter for his consideration.

Governor Burgum thanked Kevin Connors for all the work he has done in the oil and gas industry and for the State of North Dakota, and extended his support, recognition, and gratitude for applying to this position and becoming a finalist. He requested a letter of appreciation be sent to Mr. Connors.

It was moved by Commissioner Goehring and seconded by Attorney General Wrigley that the Industrial Commission send a letter of appreciation to extend their gratitude and recognition to Kevin Connors for his application and for the role he plays both at EERC and for the State of North Dakota.

On a roll call vote, Governor Burgum, Attorney General Wrigley, and Commissioner Goehring voted aye. The motion carried unanimously.

Governor Burgum thanked the DMR selection committee, the Office of the Industrial Commission, and the applicants for their hard-work and dedication to this process.

With no further business, Governor Burgum adjourned the special meeting of the Industrial Commission at 8:35 a.m.

North Dakota Industrial Commission

Bu fue

Brenna Jessen, Recording Secretary

Reice Haase, Deputy Executive Director

Karen Tyler, Interim Executive Director