Minutes of a Special Meeting of the Industrial Commission of North Dakota

Held on July 2nd, 2024 beginning at 9:00 a.m.

Governor's Conference Room - State Capitol

Present: Governor Doug Burgum, Chairman

Attorney General Drew H. Wrigley

Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring

Other attendees included Executive Director Karen Tyler, Brenna Jessen, Erin Stieg, Jace Beehler and a member of the media.

Governor Burgum called the meeting of the Industrial Commission to order at approximately 9:05 a.m.

Ms. Karen Tyler took roll call, and Governor Burgum, Commissioner Goehring, and Attorney General Wrigley were present.

Governor Burgum invited the room to stand and join the Commission in saying the Pledge of Allegiance.

Ms. Karen Tyler presented for consideration of approval changes to the Renewable Energy Standard and the Newly Created Carbon Free Standard under Minn Stat. 216B.1691 – Request for Approval to Submit Reply to Comments.

It was moved by Commissioner Goehring and seconded by Attorney General Wrigley that the Industrial Commission authorize counsel to provide any necessary and appropriate replies to comments submitted to the MN Public Utilities Commission regarding proposed rulemaking related to Changes to Renewable Energy Standard and the Newly Created Carbon Free Standard under Minn. Stat. 216B.1691, with such replies to be circulated to the Industrial Commission for review and signature and due to MPUC by July 10, 2024.

On a roll call vote, Governor Burgum, Attorney General Wrigley, and Commissioner Goehring voted aye. The motion carried unanimously.

Ms. Tyler provided a review of the process utilized by the BND President/CEO search committee to carry out the search, which resulted in two finalists presented to the Commission for final interviews.

The following individuals were voting members on the search committee:

- Tammy Miller, North Dakota Lt. Governor
- Claire Ness, North Dakota Attorney General Deputy Director
- Tom Bodine, North Dakota Agriculture Commissioner Deputy Director
- Brenda Foster, BND Advisory Board Member
- Karl Bollingberg, BND Advisory Board Chair

Non-voting members of the search committee were Karen Tyler, NDIC Executive Director and Lori Leingang, BND CAO.

The first interview with candidate finalist Kelvin Hullet started at approximately 9:15 a.m.

The first interview concluded at approximately 10:25 a.m. and the Commission took a break until 11:00 a.m.

The meeting reconvened at 11:03 a.m.

The second interview with candidate finalist Don Morgan started at approximately 11:05 a.m.

The second interview concluded at approximately 12:00 p.m and the Commission took a break until 12:15 p.m.

The Commission members held a discussion regarding the two final candidates.

It was moved by Commissioner Goehring and seconded by Attorney General Wrigley that the Industrial Commission offer Mr. Don Morgan the position of Bank of North Dakota President and CEO with a start date no later than August 1, 2024, and authorize the Industrial Commission Executive Director to negotiate and initiate an employment agreement with Mr. Morgan.

On a roll call vote, Governor Burgum, Attorney General Wrigley, and Commissioner Goehring voted aye. The motion carried unanimously.

The Commission members shared their gratitude for all candidates that took the time to apply to such an important position for the State of North Dakota. Governor Burgum specifically shared his gratitude to the two finalists for their willingness and courage to continue through a public interview process.

Discussion was had around challenges that arise with the requirement to make public the finalists for these executive positions and the impact the public nature of the process has on candidates.

With no further business, Governor Burgum adjourned the meeting at 12:40 p.m.

North Dakota Industrial Commission

Bur Jua

Brenna Jessen, Recording Secretary

Reice Haase, Deputy Executive Director

Karen Tyler, Interim Executive Director